Did you know that last year film and television production in Ontario contributed nearly $1.3 billion to the economy?
Logo

ENTERTAINMENT & TECH LAW and ADVISORY

we help bring your projects to life

À propos

Qui somme nous?

À propos

DROIT ET CONSEIL EN DIVERTISSEMENT ET MÉDIA/NOUVELLES TECHNOLOGIES

De nombreux réalisateurs indépendants ou start-up font l’impasse sur le conseil juridique, le plus souvent pour des raisons de budget mais aussi par méconnaissance du champ d’action d’une assistance juridique. Au cours de notre carrière dans le contentieux, il nous est apparu que beaucoup de ces producteurs et start-up ont été lésés dans leur activité par des contrats mal adaptés pour protéger leurs intérêts, les laissant désarmés face à des distributeurs ou partenaires peu scrupuleux. Le coût de la résolution du problème en contentieux est souvent bien plus élevé que le budget alloué à un avocat qui en amont aura aidé à déjouer tout piège juridique.

Nous apportons notre aide aux réalisateurs dans les différentes étapes de leur projet et élaborons une stratégie de distribution adaptée aux nouveaux moyens d’utilisation des médias par le public. Nous collaborons également avec des start-up dans les différents domaines de leur activité, du business plan à la gestion des investissements, dans le but de lancer puis de faire fructifier leur activité.

Nous pouvons discuter de différentes options de financement et nous engageons à réduire les coûts de procédure pour les réalisateurs indépendants et sociétés à portée sociale. Vous trouverez nos coordonnées dans la rubrique Contact ci-dessous. Tout première consultation est gratuite.

CINÉMA ET TÉLÉVISION AU CANADA – CHIFFRES

0
LONGS-MÉTRAGES
0
SÉRIES TV
0
PRODUCTIONS ISSUES DE MÉDIAS CONVERGENTS
Services

What we do

Services

Avocats

Our Team

Avocats

Zabi Yaqeen est producteur et avocat basé à Toronto au Canada, membre du Barreau du Haut-Canada depuis 2006. En plus d’exercer à la cour en faveur ou à l’encontre de banques à chartes, multinationales ou de plaignants et défendeurs individuels, Zabi intervient également auprès d’artistes, producteurs et start-up dans la concrétisation de leurs projets. Il est plusieurs fois diplômé en commun law et droit civil et exerce en français et en anglais. Avant d’ouvrir son propre cabinet Zabi fût avocat associé chez Julian Heller and Associates, spécialisé dans le contentieux commercial et le droit du divertissement. Zabi est producteur et partenaire chez Wishing Step Pictures, société de production spécialisée dans la création de films à portée sociale. Il est également producteur chez Rose Room, studio d’enregistrement de dernière technologie.

Clients

The types of clients we represent

Clients

Contact

Get in touch

Contact

Let's Keep In Touch

We’re happy to chat with you about your project, and if we can’t help you, we’ll try to refer you to someone who can. We won’t bill you for an initial consultation.

Votre nom (obligatoire)

Votre email (obligatoire)

Sujet

Votre message

Did you know that last year film and television production in Ontario contributed nearly $1.3 billion to the economy?
Logo

ENTERTAINMENT & TECH LAW and ADVISORY

we help bring your projects to life

About

who are we

About

Entertainment and tech/internet law and advisory

Many independent filmmakers and start-ups forego legal advice, usually because of perceived high costs, and a lack of familiarity with the type of assistance a lawyer can provide. In our litigation practice, it became apparent that many of these filmmakers and start-ups often experienced the negative consequences of entering into agreements which were not properly scrutinized to protect their interests, leaving them at the mercy of unscrupulous distributors and business associates. The cost of remedying a problem at the litigation phase is often multiple times the cost of retaining a lawyer to help navigate the pitfalls from the outset.

We can help filmmakers with various aspects of their production, and also provide distribution strategy adapted to the new ways in which the audience consumes media. We can also help start-ups with the various aspects of their business, from business planning, to investment structuring, all the way to launch and growth strategies.

We are open to discussing alternative billing arrangements, and reduced fee schedules for independent filmmakers and social impact enterprises. Our contact information is further below. There is no charge for an initial consultation.

facts about yearly Canadian film and television productions

0
labour income generated by film and television (billions)
0
GDP generated by film and television (billions)
0
convergent media productions
Services

What we do

Services

Clients

The types of clients we represent

Clients

Lawyers

Our Team

Lawyers

Zabi Yaqeen is a producer and entertainment lawyer in Toronto, Canada, and a member of the Law Society of Upper Canada since 2006. In addition to acting for and against chartered banks, multinationals and individual complainants and defendants in court, Zabi has helped producers, artists, and start-ups with various aspects of their projects. He has obtained degrees in both common law and civil law, and practices in English and French. Prior to starting his own practice, Zabi was an associate at Julian Heller and Associates practicing in commercial litigation and entertainment law. Zabi is a producer and partner in Wishing Step Pictures, a production company focused on making social impact films. He is also a producer at Rose Room, a state of the art multi-media studio.

Contact

Get in touch

Contact

Let's Keep In Touch

We’re happy to chat with you about your project, and if we can’t help you, we’ll try to refer you to someone who can. We won’t bill you for an initial consultation.

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Subject

Your Message